Uncategorized

#amreading – What, Why, While :  The Adoption by Jenna Kernan @JennaKernan @bookouture

 What (am I currently reading)?

I am currently reading the psychological thriller The Adoption by Jenna Kernan.  This was published by Bookouture in May of this year. 

Book Blurb  (taken from https://www.jennakernan.com/ )

Your little girl is all yours… isn’t she?

Dani and her husband Tate’s life together is almost perfect. But Dani is haunted by guilt for causing a terrible car accident that left her unable to have children. She can’t remember why she was driving so fast that day or where she was going. Her therapist says she should try to move on.

So when their application to adopt is accepted, Dani sobs with joy. As perfect little Willow nestles in her arms, Dani looks at Tate’s loving smile and knows he will always provide for his family, no matter what.

When Dani sees a woman staring as she pushes Willow’s stroller around the safe, gated Florida community where they live, she tells herself it’s simply an admiring passer-by. After all, Dani herself used to watch the local moms and wish she was in their shoes.

But when Dani wakes in the night to find Willow’s crib empty, their perfect life becomes a nightmare.

In her frantic distress for her daughter, Dani’s memories of the accident flash through her mind. And with a jolt she realizes: everyone around her has been lying about that day.

Will Dani find out the truth before it’s too late for her baby girl?

Or will facing her own dark secrets tear them all apart?

A totally addictive and heart-stopping read with a truly mind-blowing twist. Fans of The Woman in the Window, Gone Girl and The Wife Between Us won’t be able to put down this incredible thriller from bestselling author Jenna Kernan.

Why (have I chosen to read it)?

I’ve been seeing a lot of excitement over Jenna Kernan’s new psychological thriller The Ex-Wives, which is being published in October of this year, again by Bookouture.  That brought my attention to the fact that I hadn’t read anything by Jenna, so I thought I would start with  The Adoption, whilst waiting for The Ex-Wives to be available. 

While (I am reading it)

I said goodbye to my chatty, cuddly and so much loved Charlie.  Devastated does not come close to how I am feeling!

Charlie: < May 2014 (rescue cat) – August 2022

All the best, Emma of EmmabBooks.com

7 replies »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.