Uncategorized

#amreading – What, Why, While

What (am I currently reading)?

I’m currently reading the psychological thriller Dishonoured by Jem Tugwell  @JemTugwell.  The publication date is Thursday 14th January 2021, and it is being published by Serpentine Books.    My review will be up on EmmabBooks.com later this month.

Blurb (taken from: http://www.serpentinebooks.com/ )

WE’RE ALL ONE MISTAKE FROM RUIN…

Dan has worked hard for the perfect life.
He has a loving wife, beautiful kids, a fabulous home and is a successful businessman.
But one afternoon he steps onto a train with a stranger.
It was a simple mistake…
Four stops later, Dan is a criminal who has lost everything.
Someone hates him enough to destroy him.
Through a web of lies and deceit Dan battles to win his life back.

Exciting, imaginative and compulsive.

DISHONOURED is a compelling psychological thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat and turning the pages.

Perfect for readers of Lisa Jewell, Teresa Driscoll and Erin Kelly

Author Bio 

Jem Tugwell was born in Berkshire and Dishonoured is his first psychological thriller.

Jem’s first two critically acclaimed novels, Proximity and No Signal, are exciting crime fiction novels set in the near future, featuring DI Clive Lussac and his partner Zoe Jordan.

Jem has a Crime Writing MA from City University, an MBA and a BSc in Computer Science and in a past life, Jem had a successful career in IT and investment management. Jem’s loves are snowboarding, old cars and bikes. He lives in Surrey with his wife and has two children.

Why (have I chosen to read it)?

I loved Jem Tugwell’s previous two crime fiction novels, indeed gave them both a 5* rating (see links in the Author Bio above) .  Whilst these two previous books were set in the near future, this new book is a psychological thriller – which is a genre I read a lot of and enjoy (see my Thrillers and Crime book review page) .  So when the lovely people at Serpentine Books offered me the opportunity to read this new book I, obviously, leapt at the chance. 

While (I  am reading it) 

This week I’ve walked up the sides of the local pistes for the first time this season.  “Touring” is a very popular sport here, where people walk up the mountain with (synthetic) skins on the bottoms, of their skis, and then ski back down.  I, however, walk up wearing crampons and get the ski lift down.  I’m usually listening to an audiobook whilst I’m walking up, and love the stunning views and the peace of the surroundings.   It is also good exercise, which I love in retrospect, but at the time it can be hard going!   Here’s a picture from my walk this week. 

 

If you would like to tell me What you are reading, Why you are reading that book, and what you’re doing While you’re reading it, then let me know via   the Guest Blog Page on EmmabBooks.com   and maybe I’ll blog about it. 

All the best, Emma

Categories: Uncategorized

Tagged as: , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.