Uncategorized

#amreading – What, Why, While : Everything Happens for a Reason by Katie Allen @KtAllenWriting @OrendaBooks

What (am I currently reading)?

I am currently reading Everything Happens for a Reason by Katie Allen.   A very poignant debut novel with laugh out moments. It is biographical fiction. 

It is being published by Orenda Books on 10 June 2021 in paperback, is coming out as an audio book on 1st June, and is already available as an e-book. 

Whilst writing, have you noticed that Orenda have got a sale on at the moment on their website? https://orendabooks.co.uk/

Book Blurb (taken from orendabooks.co.uk )

When Rachel’s baby is stillborn, she becomes obsessed with the idea that saving a stranger’s life months earlier is to blame. An unforgettable, heart-wrenching, warm and funny debut…

‘Emotionally engaging, witty, clever and wonderfully satisfying’ Daily Express

‘A stunning debut … a wise, moving, and thought-provoking novel’ Susan Elliot Wright, author of The Flight of Cornelia Blackwood

‘A heartbreaking, deeply moving and wonderfully witty tale, which celebrates all it means to be human’ Isabelle Broom, author of The Getaway

––––––––––––––

Mum-to-be Rachel did everything right, but it all went wrong. Her son, Luke, was stillborn and she finds herself on maternity leave without a baby, trying to make sense of her loss.

When a misguided well-wisher tells her that “everything happens for a reason”, she becomes obsessed with finding that reason, driven by grief and convinced that she is somehow to blame. She remembers that on the day she discovered her pregnancy, she’d stopped a man from jumping in front of a train, and she’s now certain that saving his life cost her the life of her son.

Desperate to find him, she enlists an unlikely ally in Lola, an Underground worker, and Lola’s seven-year-old daughter, Josephine, and eventually tracks him down, with completely unexpected results…

Both a heart-wrenchingly poignant portrait of grief and a gloriously uplifting and disarmingly funny story of a young woman’s determination, Everything Happens for a Reason is a bittersweet, life- affirming read and, quite simply, unforgettable.

––––––––––––––

For fans of Jonas Jonasson, Matt Haig, Graeme Simsion and Rachel Joyce.

Why (have I chosen to read it)?

I had not heard of this book when I found it sitting on my doorstep, thanks to the lovely people at Orenda Books who thought I might like it. 

A quick glance at the book blurb, the decent size print, the engaging title and the fact that it is a debut novel*,  made me agree with Orenda Books that this would most likely be a book I would love.    

*I do love reading/following authors from their very first book release. 

While (I  am reading it) 

Last Wednesday our nightly curfew ceased and bars and restaurants opened for the first time since the beginning of November last year.  There are all sorts of strict rules in place, including showing proof of a Negative Covid Test, vaccine or anti-bodies, however these are now pretty much the norm for many activities here (like going to the hairdresser).  So on Wednesday I met the girls for breakfast at one restaurant, and on Thursday went out for an evening meal at another.   Meeting friends for breakfast is a common event here in Austria (breakfast, not brunch), and many restaurants offer a selection of continental breakfast items, or a breakfast bar. 

Here is a photo from my evening meal out.    The food (and company ) was as good as this view of meadows and snowy mountains!

If you would like to tell me What you are reading, Why you are reading that book, and what you’re doing While you’re reading it, then let me know via   the Guest Blog Page on EmmabBooks.com   and maybe I’ll blog about it. 

All the best, Emma of EmmabBooks.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.