The Mother I Could Have Been by Kerry Fisher

Mother/Daughter Relationships

My rating:  4 out of 5

00Amazon.2  00amazon-co-uk

(I earn commission if you purchase using these Amazon links)

 

The Mother I could Have Been 2Vicky left home in 2009 to go to Corfu.  It is now 2018 and she has not seen her mother since leaving home.   Caro is struggling with an unappreciative daughter, who lives down the road, but might as well be in a different country.  Two adults, two families, two perspectives. 

Vicky felt unloved by her mother, so when she discovers she is pregnant she is thrilled, and sets about building a perfect family with her boyfriend.  Only things don’t go quite as she hopes.

Caro has two adult children, plus grandchildren.  Her son works in the family business, whilst her daughter seems to spend her time finding fault with her mother. 

Vicky enters Caro’s life;  can they help each other to be the mothers they want to be?

A fascinating look at relationships, and expectations.  The characters are very true to life and fully believable.  There’s also a great twist. 

4*s from me as it was a great look at relationships from two different directions, but a tough read emotionally.   Recommended for both mothers and daughters!

 

Book Description

Why would you walk away from the one person you can’t live without?

As a child, Vicky Hall never had the sort of family she wanted. The least important person in her new step-family, ignored by her mother in favour of her two younger half-siblings, Vicky was always an afterthought. Sitting alone at her graduation ceremony at the age of twenty-one, she vows to create her own family and her own life, one which is full of the love and attention she has always craved.

When Vicky meets William and falls pregnant in Greece that summer, it isn’t planned. But the two of them believe they can make it work, showering their child with the love which they believe should be enough.

But when her son Theo is two, Vicky leaves him in the care of her mother-in-law, walks out of her front door and drives to a hotel where she takes a room for the night. She doesn’t return.

It’s unthinkable.

What kind of mother does that?

The kind who is hiding a story you can never imagine.

The Mother I Could Have Been is a heartbreaking story of impossible decisions and second chances, from the bestselling author of The Silent Wife and The Woman I Was Before. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.

Author Bio
Kerry Fisher author
Kerry Fisher is the bestselling author of five novels, including The Silent Wife and The Secret Child. She was born in Peterborough, studied French and Italian at the University of Bath and spent several years living in Spain, Italy and Corsica. After returning to England to work as a journalist, she eventually abandoned real life stories for the secrets of fictional families. She now lives in Surrey with her husband, two teenage children and a naughty Lab/Schnauzer called Poppy. 
See also:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.